Arts & Culture / Choreography / General Ramblings

Unravelling Pathways

I have not posted an update in a while as my workload at university has meant that I have had to focus my entirety on ensuring that it is completed to a good standard. However, I am in the process of writing an article about vocational schooling vs. university learning, in relation to contemporary dance and how each environment prepares their students for the world of work – so keep an eye out for that.

You’ll be pleased to hear that my workload has been getting lighter each week, as the semester draws to a close – this week I have had my assessments in technique, and I feel that I have done the best that I can! Looking back over the past year I really have developed a lot and I think that as performers we are always looking to better ourselves over other people but really we need to take a step back and look at our own rates of improvement – measuring our skill on our ability to develop. Performing tonight I could really feel the change in my level of skill, and especially my confidence in performance. I tapped into my emotion memory and revisited what I learnt in acting class to successfully (I hope) perform tonight’s piece with clarity and poise. The piece was a 15 minute dissertation called Delicacy, by Jess Lynch-Blosse, who has looked into loneliness, solitude and our human instinct to form relationships. The work used techniques related to Pina Bausch and was such a beauty to dance!

The video for this will soon follow, but until then I will leave you with the featured image being a snapshot from the piece.

Leave a Reply

