Arts & Culture / Choreography

Yorke Dance Project – Professional Pathways Participant

Photo: Yolande Yorke-Edgell

During the past couple of weeks I have had the opportunity to work with an incredible, international dance company – Yorke Dance Project. They are currently working with their Young Artist in Residence to create a piece, as part of their Spring 2014 tour, Figure Ground. Artistic Director – Yolande Yorke-Edgell, formed Yorke Dance Project in Los Angeles, 1997. The company values being able to bring opportunities to artists of all backgrounds and abilities. This experience has done just that for me.

I have been able to take part in company class and be a part of their creative process. Finding new ways to move, and exploring ways to choreograph is very inspiring and has given me a lot to work with as I return to university next month. A highlight from this two week project was being able to meet and learn from Robert Cohan, a founder of contemporary dance in Britain. Hearing his advice, regarding choreography and dancing has been enriching and something that I will carry with me as I continue to learn and grow.

I am excited to hopefully return to work with the company in the near future!

Leave a Reply

